ALRP Launches COVID-19 Relief Effort

Support the ALRP Heart of the Matter Campaign

Read More »

Asylum granted for ALRP client from Peru

HIV+ gay man from Peru granted asylum thanks to the work of one of ALRP’s Panel attorneys.

Read More »

A note about our immigration services

A note about our immigration services:

We will provide Immigration Legal Consultations BY PHONE ONLY:

Monday–Friday, 11:00 am-3:00 pm.

  • Please Call (415) 701.1200 extension 313, or extension 321 and ask for a phone consultation
  • Our legal staff will contact you as soon as possible

Here is updated information from the various immigration offices as of 03/18/2020.

Immigration court:

  • All non-detained hearings (including merits) are postponed across the United States.
  • Detained cases are still moving forward.
  • The Sacramento immigration court is closed.
  • EOIR tweeted that the case info hotline (1-800-898-7180) and online application system may not be updated for cases postponed due to the closures.
  • For more information, visit the new page created by EOIR – immigration court closures page.
  • Updates on immigration courts are announced via Twitter (@DOJ_EOIR) and Facebook (Executive Office for Immigration Review) and their website.

ICE check-ins:

  • ICE is temporarily rescheduling in-person appointments of non-detained individuals.
  • ICE will temporarily allow the filing of Form I-246, Application for Stay of Deportation or Removal, by the mail accompanied by money orders, certified funds, or requests for fee waivers only.
  • ICE will accept bonds at locations with “bond windows.”  The ICE office at 630 Sansome has a “bond window.” Only the individual appearing to post the bonds is permitted to enter the office.

Additional information on the ICE COVID-19 response.

USCIS/Asylum/Biometrics – all offices around the United States are closed

  • Starting 03/18/2020 USCIS is suspending in-person services at its field offices, asylum offices and Application Support Centers (ASCs). This suspension of services will be effective until at least April 1. In the meantime, USCIS will provide limited emergency services. Please call the Contact Center for assistance with emergency services.
  • USCIS field offices will send de-scheduling notices to applicants and petitioners with scheduled appointments and naturalization ceremonies impacted by this closure. All applicants will be rescheduled when USCIS resumes normal operations.
  • USCIS asylum offices will send interview cancellation notices and automatically reschedule asylum interviews. When the interview is rescheduled, asylum applicants will receive a new interview notice with the new time, date and location of the interview.
  • USCIS will automatically reschedule ASC appointments (fingerprint appointments) due to the office closure. You will receive a new appointment letter in the mail.
  • Individuals who had InfoPass or other appointments must reschedule through the USCIS Contact Center once field offices are open to the public again.

Please check to see if your field office has been reopened before reaching out to the USCIS Contact Center.

Last, please note that updates from the various immigration offices are happening daily (even hourly) and therefore this information is up to date. However, because of the importance of providing the community the most up to date information, we will do our best to keep the information current.

Special thanks to CARECEN SF for this information.

HIV and COVID-19

The following was informed by the CDC’s Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about HIV and COVID-19. Please refer to this page for additional guidance.


According to the CDC, people at higher risk of serious illness from COVID-19 include older adults and those with existing health conditions, such as heart disease, lung disease, and diabetes. There are more than 11,200 people over the age of 50 living with HIV in San Francisco. They make up 70% of the city’s HIV population. Coronavirus poses a serious threat to ALRP’s clients, ~70% of whom were over the age of 50 in 2019.

Today, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about HIV and COVID-19.

“At the present time, we have no specific information about the risk of COVID-19 in people with HIV.

The risk from immune suppression is not known, but with other viral respiratory infections, the risk for people with HIV getting very sick is greatest in:

  • People with a low CD4 cell count, and
  • People not on HIV treatment (antiretroviral therapy or ART).

People with HIV can also be at increased risk of getting very sick with COVID-19 based on their age and other medical conditions.”

The CDC’s FAQs page includes additional guidance on how people living with HIV can prepare for the outbreak of COVID-19:

  • Make sure you have at least a 30-day supply of your HIV medicine and any other medications or medical supplies you need for managing HIV.
  • Talk to your health care provider and make sure all your vaccinations are up-to-date, including vaccinations against seasonal influenza and bacterial pneumonia because these vaccine preventable diseases disproportionally affect people with HIV.
  • Establish a plan for clinical care if you have to stay at home for a couple of weeks. Try to establish a telemedicine link through your HIV care provider’s online portal. If telemedicine is not available to you, make sure you can communicate with your provider by phone or text.
  • Make sure you can maintain a social network remotely, such as online, by phone, or by video chat. This can help you stay socially connected and mentally healthy, which is especially important for people with HIV.
  • People with HIV can sometimes be more likely than others to need extra help, from friends, family, neighbors, community health workers, and others. If you become sick make sure you stay in touch by phone or email with people who can help you.

As a reminder, the symptoms of COVID-19 include fever, cough, and shortness of breath. If you are experiencing any of these symptoms, please contact your health care provider immediately.


ALRP is Still OPEN

ALRP is still OPEN-by APPOINTMENT ONLY until further notice. Please refer to this page for important updates about our services.

Read More »

Thank you to our 2019 volunteers

In light of our cancellation of the 2020 Volunteer Appreciation Party, we would like to virtually recognize those volunteers that assisted our organization throughout 2019.

Read More »

An Update from ALRP about COVID-19

As concerns mount about the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the health and safety of our clients, volunteers, and staff are top of mind. We want to share some information with you about the steps we are taking to ensure that we continue to operate safely and effectively.

Read More »

Annual Reception a Great Success!

This year’s event raised over $180,000 for ALRP programs. Thank You to everyone who participated!

Read More »

Fall MCLE Trainings Now Available

Check out ALRP’s upcoming MCLE trainings…

Read More »

ALRP & SF City FC Team Up for Pride

YOU can support this fundraising initiative by purchasing the FreedomPlus Pride Jerseys!

Read More »

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13