40th Anniversary Annual Reception a Major Success

Thank you to everyone who joined us on October 19, 2023, for ALRP’s 40th Anniversary Annual Reception! The event was a resounding success and hit a new record: We raised over $250,000 to provide free and low-cost legal services to people living with HIV/AIDS!

As always, we are especially grateful to our Presenting Sponsor, Gilead Sciences, and all our generous supporters who made this event a true success.

From recognizing our honorees, to a beautiful tribute to outgoing Executive Director Bill Hirsh, to a successful live auction and fund-a-need that raised over $15,000 to sustain ALRP’s law clerk program, the night could not have gone better, and we couldn’t have done it without you.

Over 350 guests gathered in the historic Julia Morgan Ballroom in downtown San Francisco to support ALRP’s work. Our friend and ally State Senator Scott Wiener served as our Special Guest Host, helping us recognize and celebrate three outstanding individuals for their service to the community:

Laura Thomas, Clint Hockenberry Leadership Award
Steven Chizen, Attorney of the Year Award
Outgoing Executive Director Bill Hirsh, Special Recognition Award

We also debuted two videos that highlighted ALRP’s 40-year history and Bill’s 24-year tenure as Executive Director:

We have dozens of great photos in our 2023 Annual Reception Photo Gallery. Please look for yourself and your friends and colleagues.

Special gratitude goes to our in-kind contributors, including Jim Bracken for video production; Alter Eco Chocolate; Bizzarros Gala & Event Auctions; Eco Terreno Wines & Vineyards; Merchants Exchange Productions; and Sköna Advertising.

ALRP Executive Directors over the last 30+ years (L to R): Matt Foreman (incoming ED), Bill Hirsh (2000-2023), Kristin Chambers (1992-1996), and Irwin Keller (1996-2000)

Sen. Scott Wiener with Laura Thomas, recipient of the Clint Hockenberry Leadership Award

Steven Chizen, recipient of the Attorney of the Year Award


Thank you to our Sponsors!

40th Anniversary Presenting Sponsor

Supreme Court Sponsors

Advocates Court Sponsors

Circuit Court Sponsors

Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Hanson Bridgett
Horizons Foundation
Jones Day
Keker, Van Nest & Peters LLP
Latham & Watkins LLP
Venable Foundation
WilmerHale LLP

District Court Sponsors

Arnold & Porter LLP
Cooley LLP
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Farella Braun + Martel
Fenwick & West LLP
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Hogan Lovells
Kaiser Permanente
Kazan, McClain Satterley & Greenwood
King & Spalding
Morgan, Lewis Bockius LLP
Munger Tolles & Olson
Nixon Peabody LLP
Perkins Coie LLP
Reed Smith LLP
Rogers Joseph O’Donnell
Sheppard Mullin
Stoel Rives LLP

Community Court Sponsors

Callaway & Wolf
DLA Piper
Holland & Knight
Hopkins & Carley
Lewis & Llewellyn
Renaker Scott LLP
Roberts Disability Law
Sidley Austin
Swanson & McNamara LLP
Trucker Huss APC
Vedder Price
Wolford Wayne